fromthedomesticbubble

travel with me from SAHM to working mum….

Teenage Fiction

With teen and pre-teen children, and as a secondary school English teacher, I have read and even enjoyed many novels aimed at teenagers or young adults.

Some of my favourites are:
Twilight
The Hunger Games
His Dark Materials
the Alex Rider stories – Horowitz
Harry Potter

Have you read any of these? Do you have a favourite? Can you recommend another author or series?

11 comments on “Teenage Fiction

  1. ifightforgod
    May 24, 2012

    I have yet to read the Hunger Games. Everyone says they are really good and seems to finish the books fast because they’re hard to put down. I really liked the book I Am Number Four. It’s the first of the series and was made in to a movie. 😀

  2. Carrie Nyman
    May 24, 2012

    I like the Unearthly series so far!

  3. Jeyna Grace
    May 24, 2012

    Hmmm…. the vampire diaries? night world series? night world is pretty cool. You should check it out.

  4. Jeannette Monahan
    May 24, 2012

    I loved Harry Potter and read them right along with my kids, never thinking to categorize them as YA. Some others I’ve read, which I also now realize are YA: “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time” (by Mark Haddon), “Millions” (which I read to my boys several years ago, by Frank Cottrell Boyce). I most recently read “Divergent” and “Insurgent” (by Veronica Roth), which reminded me somewhat of the Hunger Games in that the story takes place in a dystopian society, and it is action-packed. I liked them just as much as the HG books. Also, “The Eyes of the Dragon” (Stephen King) is very good and not his usual horror fare. He wrote it for his daughter when she was 14, I think.

    • domesticbubblewriter
      May 24, 2012

      ‘curious incident’ yes – have read it and got the audiotape to listen in the car on a rare road trip with just my daughter. I loved it, she ‘didn’t get it’, in fact, she REALLY didn’t get it. ‘Millions’: my son likes those books but I haven’t ventured there yet. I will look out the Stephen King. My favourite film is ‘Stand By Me’ from the wonderful collection of novellas ‘Different Seasons’ (it also includes Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption’.

  5. ellisnelson
    July 23, 2012

    John Green for contemporary YA.

  6. armchairauthor
    October 22, 2012

    I found the Georgia Nicholson books by Louise Rennison absolutely hilarious, though the lingo takes a little getting used to. Those would be contemporary YA (by a British author). Divergent by Veronica Roth is another series that is picking up speed here in the states, more of a Hunger Games/dystopia-type read.

Leave a Reply

My first award

Thanks Jeanette!

Another award

kreativeblogger

kreativeblogger award

Froth…

