fromthedomesticbubble

travel with me from SAHM to working mum….

My First Published Book

A little known fact.  I have been in print before, in a proper hard back book, a long time ago.

When I was at primary school, aged 9 or 10 (I visualise where I’m sitting in the class room – top juniors, Class 1) the teacher told us that we would all be entering a competition.  Everyone was to write a poem, story, draw a picture on the theme of ‘happiness’.  The winning entries would be included in a book entitled ‘A Child’s View of Happiness’.  Obviously, I won and was included.  I still have my copy of the book; they printed my age incorrectly, but it is still me, my work, printed on the page.

I remember thinking long and hard about what to write.  I was quite ‘good’ at English so tried an explanatory paragraph which wasn’t quite right.  Several of my friends had finished and were already colouring in their accompanying pictures.  I tried a poem, that wasn’t very good either.  Most people had now finished and I was beginning to panic that there wouldn’t be time to write something and do a good picture as well.  The ‘deadline’ of the lesson end was approaching.  Suddenly I got that flash of inspiration writers sometimes experience.  I had my idea.  It was straightforward, a few words and the illustration was barely one up on a stick drawing.  Naive.

We had the option of completing a sentence. ‘Happiness is….’   ‘when I am strong.’ was my reply.  Simple.  The editors must have liked it, along with my drawing which was a straight arm, thickly drawn with no elbow, just an egg-shaped bump which represented a muscle.  Even at the time I thought it was juvenile.  But it was chosen.

It’s always a pleasure to win a competition, especially when there is some notional talent involved.  But what I remember most about the whole experience wasn’t the moment that my name was read out in assembly, along with the other winner from my school, my friend’s brother, in fact I don’t remember that at all, although I must have been told at some point.  What I remembered was that flash of inspiration.  The feeling that I hadn’t written anything good enough to submit, and suddenly having a spark of an idea, getting it down on paper, handing it in to the teacher just as she was winding up the lesson.

I put it down to the power of the approaching deadline.  Through school, university, work, the hobbyist’s creative writing classes, even cleaning the house before a dinner party!  It’s only the threat of a deadline that gets me truly motivated.

A page from ‘my’ book

The power of the internet.

http://kickcanandconkers.blogspot.co.uk/2011/07/childs-view-of-happiness.html

You can find some pictures from the book here.

5 comments on “My First Published Book

  1. Dana
    May 14, 2012

    Congrats! 🙂

    I agree that deadlines are often the best motivators. I wrote about motivation in my Blog Me MAYbe post today. Great minds! LOL

    • domesticbubblewriter
      May 14, 2012

      Hi Dana
      How funny! Really enjoying the challenge of bog me maybe. Although did miss Friday’s funny. How are you doing?

  2. Dawne Webber
    May 15, 2012

    I love the flash of inspiration too. It’s the best motivation. I wish mine was deadline driven. Unfortunately, I usually get it in the middle of the night or in the shower. Neither is conducive to writing.

  3. Jeannette Monahan
    May 16, 2012

    What a nice story! And so great that you can remember that feeling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2012 by in writing and tagged , , , , , , , .

My first award

Thanks Jeanette!

Another award

kreativeblogger

kreativeblogger award

Froth…

