fromthedomesticbubble

travel with me from SAHM to working mum….

BOGOF

… this is not a swear word I have just invented but the mnemonic: buy one get one free. Yes, we are barely out of the first week in May and I have started cheating. This is my attempt to catch up on a day’s missed post.

I am reading ‘Scorpia Rising’ by Anthony Horowitz at the moment. It is the last book in his Alex Rider series, about a reluctant teenage spy. We listened to the first few on audiobooks in long journeys, and then they stopped. But I was hooked and when the final instalment came out last year I wanted to read it. Especially after I heard that it had a realistic ending and ‘bad things happened’. I’ve managed to avoid my daughter who finished reading the saga long ago and, for the past few months, I have caught up on the final 3 books and am a chapter away from completion.

So far bad things have happened. I think it’s due to get worse. I’m looking for a quiet moment to finish – preferably one where I don’t have to face people after. I think I will be crying.

Which brings me up to today. What book last made you last cry? What are you reading at the moment and what will you read next?

I’m going to read ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ – not my choice, it’s for my book group.

8 comments on “BOGOF

  1. Jeannette Monahan
    May 9, 2012

    I laughed at BOGOF. 😀 I did that too! As for books…they all make me cry at some point or other, at least the fiction ones. I’m just a big baby, and I can’t help it. Even stupid commercials can make me cry. I downloaded I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak last night. It looks like a quick read, so the next one will probably be the new Dark Tower book from Stephen King, The Wind Through the Keyhole. I am not a fan of his recent stories (except maybe 11/22/63), but I am a sucker for the Dark Tower!

    • Jeannette Monahan
      May 9, 2012

      I will also have to scope out Fifty Shades of Grey, since this is the second time in a week I’ve run across that title. Saturday Night Live had quite an, ummm, interesting little skit about it this past weekend. Not sure if it’s my kind of book though.

      • domesticbubblewriter
        May 9, 2012

        Me either. God knows why the book group wanted to read it – apparently it’s inspired by the Twilight books!

    • domesticbubblewriter
      May 9, 2012

      Thanks Jeanette. I will look out those books. Looks like we are even in tune on blog posting – and cheating!

  2. Carrie-Anne
    May 9, 2012

    Right now I’m reading Radclyffe Hall’s The Well of Loneliness, which was banned for a long time for positively depicting a lesbian. The writing style is pretty old-fashioned (a lot of telling passages instead of just showing us these scenes as they happen, and very quaint dialogue), but I’m enjoying it so far.

    I honestly can’t remember the last time I cried over a book, but I do remember crying several times the last time I read Leon Uris’s Exodus.

    • domesticbubblewriter
      May 9, 2012

      ‘show don’t tell’ – should have put that in yesterday’s post. Wow, can’t remember the last time I didn’t cry at a novel – perhaps I should look at my choices.

      Thanks for dropping by my blog.

  3. Dawne Webber
    May 13, 2012

    Someone highly recommended Janet Evanovich’s One For the Money. I just finished it. It didn’t make me cry, but I did laugh out loud a few times.

    Steinbeck’s East of Eden was the last book to make me cry. I’m not kidding when I say I even got tears in my eyes when I read Steinbeck’s dedication in the beginning. I cried at the end of the book and the end of the mini-series too. Not because it was sad, but because it was so…… there are no words. Beautiful isn’t quite right, sublime is too sublime, magnificent is too grand. It was “good” in the truest, barest sense of the word.

    That sounds kind of pretentious, but it’s not. I’m sure I missed much of the book’s depth. Every now and then I’ll see a quote from it somewhere and think, “That’s from East of Eden? That’s brilliant. I don’t remember it at all.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2012 by in blogging, family life, reading and tagged , , , , , , .

My first award

Thanks Jeanette!

Another award

kreativeblogger

kreativeblogger award

Froth…

