fromthedomesticbubble

travel with me from SAHM to working mum….

MAY I share something funny…?

Well I’ll try.

Image

– My dog’s got no nose…

– How does he smell then?

– Bloody awful!

As jokes go it’s pretty dreadful, but often the only one I can remember when put on the spot.  My dog actually smells pretty well.  He’s a labrador and has featured on these pages before: Season of Unmellow Fruitfulness  I try to take him on interesting walks during the week but generally life in the bubble is frantic and dog walking is just another chore to get through, like putting out the washing.  Consequently we have three usual walks: one from school drop off, in the common across the road from school, one on the way home, slightly longer through a wood and across some fields, and lastly, one from home in the woods on the edge of town.  The first two are quite rural and I should imagine there are some nice country smells for a dog to investigate.  The last one would be my least favourite if I were a dog.  It is the walk we take when I am pressed for time, generally when I have left him in the morning and not taken him on the school run.  He’s probably already pissed off and as soon as we walk down the path he’s thinking, here we go, quick trot round the woods, do my business then home.  Nothing much new to smell apart from the calling cards of my local mates.

Image

A few months ago there was a big change.  Our town was one of the first in England to have domestic electric lighting, we also have some pretty old lamp posts, so they’re something of a local curiosity, not just to the dogs.  None of these really old ones are still in use as there is generally a rolling programme of maintenance and this happened again recently. New brighter lamps seemed to spring up over night like mushrooms in a field.  And the dog loved it.  Just like in the garden, the old lamps were pulled up and new holes dug.  The new lamp posts were planted and the earth filled in around the bases and patted down.  And the dog had great fun watering them in – every single one.  By the time we completed the short walk to the wood he had no pee left.

5 comments on “MAY I share something funny…?

  1. Jeannette Monahan
    May 4, 2012

    Oh, he’s so cute and makes me think of my Gus, also a black lab (mix)–she lived to be 15. And interesting too about the electricity in your town. I can just imagine your dog (I see Gus in my head) bounding from post to post to leave his calling card. 🙂

    • domesticbubblewriter
      May 4, 2012

      Another connection! He’s called Sydney and he’s nearly 3. Thanks for getting me onto this ‘blog me maybe’ – it’s quite fun and I’ve had the most hits ever in one day – yesterday! Hope I can keep it up. How are you finding it?

      • Jeannette Monahan
        May 4, 2012

        I’m glad you’re having fun. I am, too, though I must admit I am stumped today and just delaying…I’m not that great at writing funny. But now I better get to it. Congrats on the hits!

  2. armchairauthor
    May 4, 2012

    That was a funny story after all. I’m enjoying these daily updates!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2012 by in blogging, dog, family life and tagged , , , , , , , , .

My first award

Thanks Jeanette!

Another award

kreativeblogger

kreativeblogger award

Froth…

