fromthedomesticbubble

travel with me from SAHM to working mum….

My Friend’s Advice…

My good friend, who usually has very sound  advice, told me that the pre-Christmas term (we mums work to a school timetable) was not the time to start a new project.  At first I agreed with her.  Having taken on two parents’ rep roles at different schools, three family birthday parties to plan and Christmas, with all the shopping, cooking and planning it entails, by the time the 25th comes around all I want to do is relax under the tree with a glass of Chablis.  And that’s before I even think about packing for the New Year ski trip.  It really isn’t the time to be job-hunting or starting my novel.

(thanks to BT)

I’m beginning to doubt the wisdom of this advice though.  There’s a definite itch I need to scratch with a finely sharpened quill and I’m worried that if I wait until after Christmas then the impetus will go and, although I’ll have the time, I’ll have lost the inclination.  Perhaps sometimes you need to act on your instincts and suffer the consequences rather than wait for the right moment…which may never come.

Any thoughts?

5 comments on “My Friend’s Advice…

  1. Marc Schuster
    November 23, 2011

    Personally, I’m always finding reasons not to write — I’m busy with work, it’s the holidays, it’s just after the holidays, and I want to relax. As a result, I’m always pushing my next writing project off until some unspecified time in the future. Which ultimately means “never.” In other words, I’m a great procrastinator, but I should really be buckling down and writing. To me, the fact that you have “the itch” is a great thing. It’s your instinct kicking in and telling you that it’s time to write. So, yes, start your novel today! (Or tomorrow.)

    • domesticbubblewriter
      November 23, 2011

      Yes, I agree, Marc. I’m an expert on procrastination too. That’s why I think I should just get on with it. Interestingly, I have managed to convince my friend to start her own project, even though she is arguably more busy than me! I think that once you start something worthwhile it begins to take on a life of its own.

  2. wordsfallfrommyeyes
    November 25, 2011

    Any thoughts? Are you KIDDING me? Words are gifts from God knows where – words well placed, that beat a rhythm you want heard, that say what must be said – but can only be said then, when the words come to you. NEVER, NEVER put off writing. When it comes to you, it’s a gift. Write it now, no matter whatever other mundane things you “must” fit in. What does your friend know, or think she knows, really?

    • domesticbubblewriter
      November 25, 2011

      Thank you so much – you verbalise my feelings. (funnily enough, my friend has just started her own project: taming MY neglected garden!). How is your own writing going? I still remember reading one of your beautiful stories….

  3. Jeannette Monahan
    November 28, 2011

    Yes! You should definitely start writing, or at least jotting down your ideas. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had a thought or a sudden inspiration and told myself, “I’ll remember it later.” Of course, I never do. I have been trying to be better about it and now have sticky notes all over my computer desktop and various places in my house, though I’ll probably never find those!

Leave a Reply

My first award

Thanks Jeanette!

Another award

kreativeblogger

kreativeblogger award

Froth…

