fromthedomesticbubble

travel with me from SAHM to working mum….

Creating a Portfolio Career

Now that my Return to Teaching course is over, I can get back to Job-Hunting.  There are a few major obstacles to this:

  1. The summer. With the long days, and the good(!) weather, invitations to lunches, tennis or watching the kids play sport, the thought of being tied to a regular job is not attractive.  But I think it may be more attractive in the winter; my kitchen is very cold.
  2. Redundant husband.  Every time I leave the house some other renovation is planned and an appointment is made for yet another tradesman to quote for some further project.  One day I may return home to where I thought my house was and find quite a different property altogether. Just hope he remembers to get a set of the new keys cut for me.
  3. Writing.  Before undertaking the teaching course I had joined a local writers’ workshop.  It was really enjoyable and had made me seriously focus on writing for the first time in years.  I even wrote a few (bad) stories.  I felt I was improving, but, with the work-load of the course, I lost my focus and slipped out of the writing habit.  If I put teaching and writing next to each other and, in best Harry Hill voice, shouted ‘FIGHT’: writing would win.
So, a balance needs to be struck between maintaining my newly rediscovered sense of worth and nurturing my recently sown creative skills.  I have picked up the term ‘portfolio career’ from somewhere.  
http://www.careershifters.org/expert-advice/portfolio-careers-for-people-in-their-20s-and-30s
It is an interesting concept and one I’d like to explore.  If I don’t want to be tied to regular hours then supply teaching is ideal, if tough discipline-wise.  We all remember temporary teachers from our own school days.  But, it can be quite lucrative, flexible and there’s little/no planning or marking.  If a school likes me enough they may make me a regular supply, or even offer me a permanent contract.  If I also like them, I may accept.  
Writing is also a portable career, not so well-paid and quite precarious, but enjoyable and fulfilling.  Given that I have only submitted one piece for publishing to date (a rant to women’s magazine mslexia), I am starting from a low base.  Even researching suitable platforms for my work is proving a slog.  There is too much of a high days and holiday culture in our house; we are feeling like it’s the end of the party and fun times need to be crammed in.  Work can wait till the Autumn, can’t it?
One comment on “Creating a Portfolio Career

  1. Randy Pena
    June 21, 2011

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

My first award

Thanks Jeanette!

Another award

kreativeblogger

kreativeblogger award

Froth…

