fromthedomesticbubble

travel with me from SAHM to working mum….

Apology

Dear Blog,
I’m really sorry to have neglected you over the past few weeks, months… My excuses? Many and varied.

When I started my relationship with you, it was to chart the progress of a SAHM’s adventures in the world out of the domestic bubble, the world of work. I was unprepared for my sudden bursting into the labour market which was the result of my husband’s redundancy. Initially, this threw us into greater intimacy, as the novelty of commuting, role-reversal and work were great subjects for pillow-talk. However, once the sheen wore off, a chink developed in our formally close coupling. Because I did not address it promptly, this widened to a chasm, and finally an almost unbridgeable canyon.

sixt fer a cheval

A chasm developed in our relationship

Blog, I am truly sorry that I let this happen. When I was commuting by train, blogging was easy. Drafting on the iphone was possible, even scribbling some notes on a piece of paper to upload later. Likewise, when at the gym, or walking the dog: previous ‘domestic bubble’ pursuits, thinking time for conversations with you was possible. But when I was driving to work, and then, when the children were on school holidays, this special time didn’t happen. I lost sight of my deep affection for you and began to resist your charms.

I will return to you, I promise. The deep infatuation of my temporary employment is over. There may be brief flirtations with fiction or rhyme, or jobs, but you have no other serious rival to my affections. I will try to devote myself to you once more, and I will not let capricious Time come between us.

Dear, dear Blog; can you forgive me?

Your constant:
domesticbubblewriter

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2011 by in blogging, working mother and tagged , , , , .

My first award

Thanks Jeanette!

Another award

kreativeblogger

kreativeblogger award

Froth…

